Theatre Rollercoaster

April 13, 2010

A year ago we were just about to open The Sound of Music, and Quincy Music Theatre was just announcing their new season.  And my friend Nick got selected to direct a show, the one that’s opening in two weeks, Meet Me in St.Louis. So when I got a voice mail from Karla asking me to call her back to “discuss a matter” it really got my wheels turning.  You see Karla is a QMT board member.  Now when theatre people call me like that it’s usually to get me to stage manage something.  I hadn’t been asked that in a while because I’d had to give six months of “no”s due to my crazy work schedule.  It was also not the right time… one show imminently opening, the next already cast and in rehearsal.  But who knows maybe they needed a house manager or an ASM.  All these possibilities ran though my head, but I had this glimmer of hope that maybe they needed a director.  I was thinking big.

Well she called me back Saturday afternoon, and she asked me “well tell me what you have been in? what shows have you been involved in.”  I told her that Parade, the show we had been in together was the only thing that I had acted in recently, that I’d mainly focused on back stage work.

Then she said, “Well I have this part I need to fill in the show I’m directing and I think you’d be great for it.”  The show is an extended run of a QMT show that played earlier this season and I guess they had someone drop out.  It’s in four weeks… and she offered me the third lead.

Yeah… the third most important person in the show.

I was jumping on that, when would I get that chance again.  Not soon I can guarantee.  So I made plans to meet her in an hour to sing though some stuff, sure up plans, etc.  I hung up the phone, got up to go get changed, when I grabbed my calender.  Four weeks from now, as in May 7-9 Mothers Day weekend.  My hundred dollars worth of tickets for May 7 Showtime in Pensacola just arrived that day too.

I called Karla back to tell her I couldn’t do it.  “Well, next time,” she says.  Right.

One Response to “Theatre Rollercoaster”

  1. Hank Says:

    Wouldn’t you just know it! 😦

Leave a Reply

