Erin is a Nerd: Dirty Dancing Edition

June 24, 2009

So, I’ve already admitted here that I *heart* Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights. I know it’s not everyone’s favorite, or considered, you know, a good movie.  But I can’t help my love for it.  You can not believe my delight when this week I was told on This American Life that Peter Sagal (host of Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me) has story credit for the movie.  It was from a movie (his only one) that he was commissioned to right about intersecting stories of Cuban Revolutionaries and the girl that love one of them.  He got the note to make the story more “like Dirty Dancing.”  The movie never got made.  Until someone had an idea to make a Dirty Dancing sequel and they remembered his script.

It’s kind of like discovering that my two friends already know each other.

Anyway… Erin is a nerd, with dubious taste in movies.

You can listen to the episode here. And I do take offense to calling it “one of the worst movie sequels ever made.”

Leave a Reply

