I did that: Climbing a mountain

November 8, 2008

So I thought I’d tell some stories about the things that I did from my list.

I have been to the highest point in Florida… but that’s not really a mountain.  The mountain I am thinking about is in South Carolina at Camp Awaninta.  We went there with youth group a few times for the end of Mission-fest.  That was one week in the summer when we’d gather to do in-town mission work in the morning and then have devotions and fun stuff in the afternoons and evenings.  Then at the end of the week we went on a trip someplace fun.  We went to this camp at least 3 times.  They had all sorts of fun stuff to do and then we went whitewater rafting.  They have a zip line and a hummer ride and a ropes course.  It was always a lot of fun.

At the top of one of the mountains they had a cross that you could climb up to, and benches to sit and think and pray.  There was a steep face of the mountain that is clay and then a back way that was more like a nature trail.  So we climbed up the nature trail way and we decided we’d go down the steep way.  I don’t know who’s idea it was but it was not a good one.  We started out walking down but the momentum was so great that at about half way down you couldn’t help but run or fall down.  The only problem was that… you know… mountains end.  And boy did I see it coming.  I came running down full tilt this steep hill, I took one step onto the leavel ground and my body kept moving down that incline right into the clay.  And right in front of my group.  And to add insult to literal injury, I had to go to dinner with my red-clay stained outfit.  Man.

hill

Leave a Reply

