Beijing Olympics Day 3

August 10, 2008

I love the Olympics. I think that I’ve loved it since I cheered Kristi Yamaguchi to her gold in figure skating. And I think that everyone in the US (and particularly the south) loved the fact that the Olympics were in Atlanta. That’s the year the US women’s gymnastic team won the gold medal. I was in the seventh grade. Fun fact… this was also the year I worked on writing the html for the GBMS website. That’s right, before I worked on it in 1996 GBMS did not have a website. Here’s a screen shot of a GBMS website I wrote in eighth grade circa 97. (Also, I am at this moment watching Hannah Thompson fence live from Beijing on the internet. Man times have changed. And the flashing mesh helmets are scary in a medieval slash space alien sort of way.)

One of the fun facts that I included on my personal page was how much I love the Olympics. (Fencing interuption… Hannah just won 11 -2, go team USA.) My friend and I even did our seventh grade history fair project on the Magnificent Seven and Kerri Strug. So I was watching today when the women’s gymnastic qualifying events started in Beijing. But the US girls are having a rough day. One gymnasts was injured in the last seconds of warm up meaning that they did not have a alternate in some of the events whose scores could be dropped. In the floor exercise two of them stepped out of bounds with two feet. On the uneven bars one girl feel off and the favorite in the event had a terrible dismount. (Swimming interruption… Just watched “the most incredible relay ever” the 4 by 100 men’s free where the US’s anchor man over took the highly favored French’s lead by about 3 ft in the last half of the last lap, amazing. And that leaves Michael Phelps’s quest for 8 golds still alive. And he is favored in all the rest of his events.) All for of those mistakes cost huge deductions. So the US is in second place meaning that China will be able to compete last in the finals so they will know exactly how many points they’ll need to win and be able to adjust difficulty levels accordingly. Better luck tomorrow girls.

Oh one last thing who ever chose these shiny red leotards is just plain mean. They are just not flattering (this picture’s not bad but trust or watch for yourself.) And you have to work really hard to make 95 pound girls with not an ounce of fat on them look bad. Bring back the white ones please.

Leave a Reply

