Not so Fantastick

June 5, 2008

So I was not selected to direct the first show of the TLT season. I spent five or six hours working on my proposal but it all comes down to “not enough experience” Wow that’s familiar. How do you get experience if no one will hire you? The message I got was that they enjoyed reading my proposal but were going with someone with more experience. We’ll have to see who that is, and how they do. Experience certainly doesn’t make you easier to get along with, that’s for sure. So… they told me that I should AD a show this season and participate in the upcoming director’s workshops. I expect to have to be proactive on that point too. Maybe I’m just feeling bitter. But I’ll hold them accountable. I wish they had interviewed me. Oh yeah, and I didn’t go to the Guys and Dolls audition, so that is bumming me out too.

So here are some of my extra great ideas that TLT missed out on.

  • using a ladder as the tree
  • letting women play the fathers
  • burlap and rope everywhere
  • modern costuming
  • no hats
  • conductor onstage
  • fancy trap door box
  • Oh… and a swing… I mean how great would it be to have a swing onstage. You really missed out on that one. Come on… a swing!

So we’ll see if I have enough experience next year, if I’m still in Tallahassee that is. Oh and there is also supposed to be a new works festival so maybe I’ll crack out some pages for “Under the Greenwood Tree.”

One Response to “Not so Fantastick”


  1. […] session. And I guess that doesn’t bode well for a free directors workshop. I asked about it one more time and still no info is forthcoming. I even volunteered to help coordinate it. No wonder I can’t […]

Leave a Reply

